Skip to main content
Skip to main menu Skip to spotlight region Skip to secondary region Skip to UGA region Skip to Tertiary region Skip to Quaternary region Skip to unit footer


Past News and Press

  • Max Owens had his article entitled: "Personality traits share overlapping neuroanatomical correlates with internalizing and externalizing psychopathology" in the Journal of Abnormal Psychology (2019).
  • Catherine Mewborn had her article entitled: "The relationship of lutein and zeaxanthin levels to neurocognitive functioning: An fMRI study" accepted to the Journal of the International Neuropsychological Society (2016).
  • Max Owens had his acrticle entitled: "Neuroeconomics of tobacco demand: An initial investigation of the neural correlates of cigarette cost-benefit decision making in male smokers" accepted to Scientific Reports (2016).
  • David Parker was a Poster award winner at the Society for Psychophysiological Research Conference in September (2016). He also selected to give an Oral presentation at International Congress on Schizophrenia Research Congress in March 2017 . 
  • Catherine Mewborn, Max Owens, and David Parker were selected to be the 2016-2018 Franklin Fellows
  • Jordan Hamm had his article entitled "Somatostatin Interneurons Control a Key Component of Mismatch Negativity in Mouse Visual Cortex" accepted to Cell Reports (2016).
  • Ana Bobilev became a Postdoctoral Researcher at UTSouthwestern Medical Center in Dallas, TX in the Department of Psychiatry under the direction of Dr. Carol Tamminga (2016).
  • Jordan Pierce become a Postdoctoral Researcher in the Laboratory of Neurology and Imaging of Cognition under the direction of Dr. Patrik Vuilleumier at the University of Geneva (2016).
  • Doug Terry became a Clinical and Research Fellow in Sports Neuropsychology and Mild Traumatic Brain Injury in the departments of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation and Psychiatry at Harvard Medical School (2015).
  • Michael Amlung became an Assistant Professor in the Department of Psychiatry & Behavioural Neurosciences, Michael G. DeGroote School of Medicine, McMaster University (2015).
  • Jordan Hamm became a Postdoctoral Research Scientist in Department of Biological Sciences under the dircetion of Rafael Yuste at Columbia University (2014).
  • Amanda Rodrigue was chosen for the UGA Franklin College-University of Liverpool Doctoral Student Short-Term International Research Fellowship. All expenses paid for a one-week research collaboration with Dr. Paul Knox in Liverpool (January 2015).
  • Anastasia Bobilev, Matthew Hudgens-Haney and Jordan Hamm presented results from neuroimaging projects at Neuroscience 2014.
  • The Bio-Imaging Research Center hosted the Annual Retreat of the Bipolar-Schizophrenia Network on Intermediate Phenotypes consortium, a multi-site, NIMH funded project in collaboration with UGA’s Clinical and Cognitive Neuroscience Laboratory (January 2015)
  • Lauren Ethridge took a position as Assistant Professor of Psychology and Pediatrics, University of Oklahoma.
  • Franklin Fellow Doug Terry was the first author of “Lack of long-term fMRI differences after multiple sports-related concussions,” which will be published in an upcoming issue of Brain Injury.
  • Franklin Fellow Justin Knight took a post-doctoral position at UC Davis.
  • Matt Hudgens-Haney (2011) and Dave Frank (2012) were awarded spots in the Multimodal Neuroimaging Training Program Workshop at Carnegie Mellon/University of Pittsburgh.
  • Michael Amlung won 2nd place in the Division 50 (Addictions) Student Poster Awards at the 2012 APA convention for his poster entitled "An fMRI Study of Delay Discounting in Heavy Drinkers.” He was also a recipient of the American Psychological Foundation's 2012 Ungerleider/Zimbardo Travel Scholarship.
  • Franklin Fellow Dave Frank was first author on “Stimulus-driven reorienting in the ventral frontoparietal attention network: the role of emotion” to be published in Frontiers in Human Neuroscience.
  • Jordan Hamm and Justin Knight hosted a Neural Oscillations workshop at Arizona State University (2012)
  • Kara Dyckman finished her post-doc at Harvard to take a position as temporary Assistant Professor Department of Psychology University of Georgia, Athens, GA.
  • Lauren Ethridge took a position as postdoctoral Researcher II, Autism Center UT Southwestern Medical Center.
  • Elizabeth Krusemark started a post-doc at University of Wisconsin Madison.
  • Nathaniel Thom took a position as Senior Stress Physiologist in the Warfighter Performance Department, Naval Health Research Center, San Diego, CA and as Adjunct Assistant Professor of Biology, Point Loma Nazarene University, San Diego, CA
  • Kara Dyckman took a position as Postdoctoral Research Fellow Psychiatric Neuroimaging, Massachusetts General Hospital
  • Elizabeth Krusemark was awarded the Martha Jo Walker Johnson Award, University of Georgia (2008 and 2009).
  • Jordan Hamm was awarded a spot in the Multimodal Neuroimaging Training Program Workshop at Carnegie Mellon/University of Pittsburgh (2009)
  • Lauren Ethridge was awarded a spot in the Multi-modal Short Course participant at the Martinos Center for Biomedical Imaging (2008)
  • Nathaniel Thom was awarded the Louise E Kindig Research Award for best doctoral proposal, Department of Exercise Science, The University of Georgia (2008)
  • Elizabeth Krusemark was awarded a spot at the Workshop on Biology of Social Cognition, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory (2006)
  • Kara Dyckman was awarded the American Psychological Foundation Graduate Research Scholarship (APF/COGDOP; 2004-2005)

Support us

We appreciate your financial support. Your gift is important to us and helps support critical opportunities for students and faculty alike, including lectures, travel support, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Click here to learn more about giving.

Every dollar given has a direct impact upon our students and faculty.